5 things I learnt being raised by a single mum

1) It’s probably the hardest job in the world.
Being raised by a single parent taught me something very important. Forget trying to run a country, a business, or even a shop. Being a single mother is probably the hardest job in the world. Imagine trying to raise a child on your own into a successful adult; while also holding together a job, paying bills, and buying food with no help. I couldn’t but somehow my mum did it.

2) Your bond with your mum is the strongest you’ll ever have.
The first person I go to with my issues, no matter how trivial is my mum. From heartbreaks to mistakes she understands because she has been there before. If you go away from here for a while you might feel empty but then she is always a phone call away. This is the woman that provided everything for you and it was never conditional, no one can replace that.

3) She will be your best friend.
I have great friends, Incredible people who have helped me through my entire life. However, they won’t come close to your mum. Being raised by my mum with no siblings for 10 years meant that she was always there to play games with, talk to, watch films, I could go on forever. When you spend that much time with someone, they are guaranteed to be your best friends.

4) You value everything so much more
Money being tight makes those presents at Christmas, A trip to the cinema, or a simple McDonalds being special. This will stick with you for your entire life. Even though we can now afford to go out whenever and wherever it still has that special experience to it. This also transfers to myself personally. When I buy myself new clothes, or go out, I feel like I’ve earned it. Being raised in this way truly taught me the value of experiences over items.

5) How to treat people, and how people should treat you
I like to think my mum did an incredible job raising me, she instilled morals and beliefs that inform every decision I make. Living a life dedicated to supplying for me meant she taught me to always reach out and help others. I guess this might have been because she saw the people reaching out to help her and as such wanted me to grow up just like them. It worked, Now most of the time I try and help whenever I can even if it’s something as simple as helping someone carry a pushchair up the stairs or help someone with directions.

By Harry Lye
Featured image credit to Motherhood: The Real Deal.

Leave a comment